Grammarly: The Burner of Grammar Nazis [REVIEW]

Product: Software

Price: FREE

Rating: 5/5

 WHAT IS GRAMMARLY? 

Grammarly is a digital proofreading tool. In other words, it is something similar to your phones’ auto correct, but 10 times better. It would correct all of your spelling, grammar, punctuation… (the list goes on) mistakes. In addition to all of that, it revises your work and suggests alternative words and expressions for you to use and improve your essays, blog posts, papers, etc.

It is a great and FREE tool for students, teachers, bloggers and everyone who uses a keyboard. It helps a lot with presenting a better work.  It does not only correct your mistakes but helps you to never repeat them again.

No need for you to look for someone to proofread your writing anymore, you have got Grammarly.20150114063322-0104correctinginstantgrammarchecker250x250-1

HOW TO USE IT

First things first, let’s start with setting up your account and getting the FREE tool.

All you have to do is go to the website, get the Grammarly button for Chrome and log up using your email or Facebook. Three easy steps that can be done in less than two minutes.

Once you have done that, you will be ready to go.cc

Set up your settings by clicking on the Grammarly extension, and choose the language you usually write in (American or British English).

I advise you to enable the double click dictionary. It helps a lot when reading an article with difficult words.  No need to copy and paste the word into an online dictionary and keep going from one tab to another.

The green icon of Grammarly will start showing up wherever you type (Facebook posts and comments, Twitter, email, WordPress,etc.) It will underline every spelling, punctuation or spacing mistake and suggest the correct form that you should be using. Em!! Sounds familiar? Not really, because Grammarly does not only underline the error but also explains what’s wrong with your “typing”. That would help you with finding your writing flows and avoiding them in the future.

That’s only with the free version, imagine what you can do with the premium one!

To demonstrate for you how this amazing tool works, I am going to use one of my old blog posts that have not been proofread by Grammarly yet.

gr

Grammarly detected 15 critical issues and 10 advanced ones.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The critical issues are mistakes that can be detected by Grammarly no matter what kind of account you have. While the advanced ones can be detected when you upgrade your account (by paying or for FREE by inviting a friend to use Grammarly).

As you can see in the screenshots, this amazing tool underlies the wrong words/expressions and gives you a hint of why it’s wrong. Daaamn! It’s like your teacher is on a computer 😀

Even better, by clicking on the underlined word/sentence, a detailed explanation appears.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As a student of English (non-native speaker of the language) I can tell you that it has already helped me a lot with my posts. I cannot wait to try it with essays. YES! It corrects everything and gives you a score out of 100 for your writing. I was like a little kid in the candy store when my account was upgraded and I saw this:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now, some of you might be wondering:

  1. Do I have to always be online to be able to write? What if I’m somewhere with no wifi and suddenly get an idea that I have to write before I forget it?
  2. What if I use someone else’s computer with no Grammarly button for Chrome?
  3. What if I write in another language and Grammarly will keep revising and underlining every single word in red?

Well, Grammarly thought of every single little problem that a user might encounter.

1- You can use Microsoft Office Word to type and save your pieces of writing then upload them on Grammarly, once you get access to the NET, for correction.

2- Just log in your Grammarly account, click on new and write what you have to write. Grammarly will correct your writing. Moreover, you can get access to it later from your computer or any other computer.

new

As for the third question: you can shut down Grammarly (without logging out or removing the Chrome button) when you’re not typing in English. Then you can easily activate it again whenever you need it.

Here is how you do it:

I have finally found how to burn my Grammar Nazi friends and impress everyone with my blog posts and essays.

Hurry! Create your Grammarly account and get rid of all your Grammar Nazi friends.

If you have already been using Grammarly, please leave a comment and tell me what you think of it.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

Take care and WRITE 🙂

Ines x

8 thoughts on “Grammarly: The Burner of Grammar Nazis [REVIEW]

  1. I will definitely look up for more websites like Grammarly, I loved it and it made me think about these kinds of websites that we should find and use to improve our english. I will definitely review other ones as soon as I finish my exams

  2. Hi, I think your blog is amazing, hence I tagged you in my latest post on Mystery Blogger Award. I hope you’ll have fun with the tag, and keep up the great work! 🙂

  3. I love this site! I use it all the time for any write ups I need to do for school, it is really helpful. This post is great; I’m glad you’re sharing this little writing treasure of the internet with us :))

Leave a Reply

